The Scandinavian Society of Anaesthesiology and Intensive care Medicine (SSAI) has over the years been involved in quality improvement and patient safety work through the “Quality Assurance Committee”. In 2003 the Quality Assurance Committee changed name to the Clinical Practice Committee (CPC). One of the main topics of the society are on continuous quality improvement, optimising clinical practice and improving patient safety.

Guidelines published by the CPC can be found in the guideline section.

Clinical Practice Committee (CPC)


Morten Hylander Møller
Associate Professor
Copenhagen University Hospital Rigshospitalet
Department of Intensive Care 4131
Blegdamsvej 9
DK – 2100 CopenhagenDenmark
Phone: +45 35 45 86 85 / +45 22 55 53 43
E-Mail: morten.hylander.moeller [at]

SSAI-board representative

Klaus T. Olkkola
Department of Anaesthesiology
Intensive Care and Pain Medicine
Helsinki University Hospital
University of Helsinki
Helsinki, Finland.


Maija-Liisa Kalliomäki
Department of Anaesthesiology
Tampere University Hospital,
Tampere, Finland


Martin Ingi Sigurðsson
Division of Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine
Landspitali -The National University Hospital of Iceland
Reykjavik, Iceland 


Marius Rehn
Norwegian Air Ambulance Foundation
Oslo University Hospital – Rikshospitalet. Division of Emergencies and Critical Care
University of Stavanger. Faculty of Health Sciences
E-mail: marius.rehn [at]
Tel: (+47) 907 84 044


Michelle S Chew
Linköping University Hospital and Institute for Clinical Sciences Malmö
Lund University
Department of Anaesthesia and Intensive Care
S-58185 Linköping
Tel +4613282452
Mail: michelle.chew [at]