Education

Currently recruiting

The 14th (2024-26) SSAI fellowship program in Paediatric Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine

The Scandinavian Society of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine (SSAI) co-ordinates an advanced Inter-Nordic education program in paediatric anaesthesia and intensive care medicine. This education program (fellowship) aims at physicians who recently have received their specialist degree in anaesthesiology and intensive care medicine.

The fellowship is 24 months, starting September 1st 2024

It is comprised of

  • 24 months of training in paediatric anaesthesia and intensive care, minimum 12 months at specialised clinic
  • 3 months (minimum) of paediatric intensive care medicine within the 24 months
  • 1 month of exchange to other specialised clinic(s), minimum two weeks in another country
  • 4 theoretical courses
  • Assessment of theoretical knowledge
  • Logbook of clinical practice
  • Academic project

In order to be accepted, the candidate has to secure an employment in an appropriate position of minimum 12 months at a department of paediatric anaesthesia at a highly specialized centre (host clinic). The remaining 12 months can be in an appropriate position at another (less specialised) department.

We do no longer specify which hospitals can take the role as a host clinic but emphasize that a host clinic must not take on more fellows than they have the caseload for. If the clinic does not have a program for neonatal surgery or a paediatric intensive care unit, arrangements must be made with clinics that do. The fellows must be able fill their logbooks. Please see the Contract for more details.

The application deadline is March 15th 2024.

Application process

Download and carefully read the Contract. Fill in all required information (billing info must be precise) and secure the necessary signatures. We do not require a motivation letter nor a CV. The sponsoring clinics know their candidates and they choose who they will support.
The contract is then to be mailed to the head of the program, Dr Gunnar Bentsen at gunnarbentsen@hotmail.com or gbentsen@ous-hf.no before the application deadline.

If the program would have to say no to candidates, we will first look for a distribution of candidates between countries according to population. Then the national steering committee members will look at the number of candidates from different clinics and establish a dialog with relevant heads of department to find the best solution.

Documents

Contract

Steering committee

Gunnar Bentsen (chair), NOR, gunnarbentsen@hotmail.com

Elizabeth Casinge (treasurer), SWE, elisabeth.casinge@vgregion.se

Marianne Berntsen, DEN, marianne.berntsen@regionh.dk

Nicola Groes Clausen, DEN, nicola@nicola.dk

Casper Jessen, DEN, caslorjes@gmail.com

Mona Tarpgaard, DEN, mona.tarpgaard@regionh.dk

Heli Salmi, FIN, heli.salmi@hus.fi

Markku Taittonen, FIN, markku.taittonen@varha.fi

Ivar Gunnarsson, ISL, ivargunn@landspitali.is

Theodor Skuli Sigurdsson, ISL, theodorsku@hotmail.com

Mathilde Kannelønning, NOR, mkannelonning@hotmail.com

Annika Liersch Nordqvist, SWE, aliersch2@gmail.com

Ulf Lindsten, SWE, ulf.lindsten@regionstockholm.se

For further information, please contact

Dr. Gunnar Bentsen
Oslo University Hospital – Rikshospitalet
Oslo, Norway
gunnarbentsen@hotmail.com / gbentsen@ous-hf.no
+47 90859246